Virginia Tech™home

Faculty

Search MII Faculty by

Colleges

Department Name Rank Email
Food Science and Technology Susan Duncan Professor duncans@vt.edu
Food Science and Technology
Cristina Fernández Fraguas Assistant Professor
cfraguas@vt.edu
Food Science and Technology
Joseph Marcy Professor jmarcy@vt.edu
Department Name Rank Email
Architecture and Design
Joe Wheeler Professor joewheel@vt.edu
Department Name Rank Email Lab Website
Aerospace and Ocean Engineering Gary Seidel Associate Professor gary.seidel@vt.edu  
Biological Systems Engineering Justin Barone Professor jbarone@vt.edu  
Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics Romesh Batra Clifton C. Garvin Professor rbatra@vt.edu  
Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics Scott Case Reynolds Metals Professor scase@vt.edu  
Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics Raffaella De Vita Professor devita@vt.edu STRETCH Lab
Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics David Dillard
The Adhesives & Sealant Science Professor dillard@vt.edu  
Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics Jack Lesko Professor jlesko@vt.edu  
Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics Scott Verbridge Associate Professor sverb@vt.edu Laboratory of Integrative Tumor Ecology
Chemical Engineering Donald Baird Alexander F. Giacco Professor dbaird@vt.edu Polymer Processing Group
Chemical Engineering Michael Bortner Assistant Professor mbortner@vt.edu Polymer Composite and Materials Laboratory
Chemical Engineering Richey Davis Professor of Chemical Engineering and Health Sciences rmdavis@vt.edu Davis Group
Chemical Engineering Sanket Deshmukh Assistant Professor sanketad@vt.edu Deshmukh Group
Chemical Engineering Aaron Goldstein Associate Professor goldst@vt.edu Goldstein Group
Chemical Engineering Erdogan Kiran Professor ekiran@vt.edu Kiran Research Page
Chemical Engineering Stephen Martin Associate Professor martinsm@vt.edu Membranes@VT
Chemical Engineering Padma Rajagopalan Robert H. Hord Endowed Professor padmar@vt.edu Laboratory for Biomaterials and Tissue Engineering
Chemical Engineering Rong Tong Assistant Professor rtong@vt.edu Tong Research Group
Civil and Environmental Engineering Maryam Shakiba Assistant Professor mshakiba@vt.edu Shakiba Group
Industrial and Systems Engineering Blake Johnson Assistant Professor bnj@vt.edu Advanced Biomanufacturing and Biosensing (AdBio) Lab
Materials Science and Engineering Carolina Tallon Assistant Professor tallon@vt.edu Tallon Research Lab
Materials Science and Engineering Abby Whittington Associate Professor awmorgan@vt.edu  
Materials Science and Engineering Hang Yu Assistant Professor hangyu@vt.edu  
Mechanical Engineering Bahareh Behkam Associate Professor behkam@vt.edu MicroN BASE Laboratory
Mechanical Engineering Jonathan Boreyko Associate Professor boreyko@vt.edu Nature-Inspired Fluids & Interfaces Lab
Mechanical Engineering Michael Ellis Associate Professor mwellis@vt.edu  
Mechanical Engineering Roop Mahajan Lewis A. Hester Chair in Engineering mahajanr@vt.edu  
Mechanical Engineering Amrinder Nain Associate Professor nain@vt.edu STEP Lab
Mechanical Engineering Rui Qiao Professor ruiqiao@vt.edu Laboratory of Transport Phenomena for Advanced Technologies
Mechanical Engineering Danesh Tafti William S. Cross Professor dtafti@vt.edu  
Mechanical Engineering Michael von Spakovsky Professor vonspako@vt.edu  
Mechanical Engineering Robert West Associate Professor westrl@vt.edu  
Mechanical Engineering Christopher Williams L.S. Randolph Professor cbwill@vt.edu DREAMS Lab
Department Name Rank Email Lab Website
Sustainable Biomaterials Kevin Edgar Professor of Biomaterials and Bioprocessing kjedgar@vt.edu  
Sustainable Biomaterials Charles Frazier Thomas M. Brooks Professor cfrazier@vt.edu Plant Polymers Research Group
Sustainable Biomaterials Young-Teck Kim Associate Professor ytkim@vt.edu  
Sustainable Biomaterials Maren Roman Associate Professor maren.roman@vt.edu  
Department Name Rank Email Lab Website
Chemistry Paul Deck Associate Professor pdeck@vt.edu Deck Research Group
Chemistry Alan Esker Professor aesker@vt.edu  
Chemistry Harry Gibson Professor hwgibson@vt.edu  
Chemistry Feng Lin Assistant Professor fenglin@vt.edu Lin Lab
Chemistry Guoliang (Greg) Liu Associate Professor gliu1@vt.edu The Liu Group
Chemistry Timothy Long Professor telong@vt.edu Long Research Group
Chemistry Louis Madsen Professor lmadsen@vt.edu Madsen Research Group
Chemistry John Matson Associate Professor jbmatson@vt.edu Matson Research Group
Chemistry Robert Moore Professor rbmoore3@vt.edu Moore Research Group
Chemistry Amanda Morris Professor ajmorris@vt.edu Amanda Morris Group
Chemistry Michael Schulz Assistant Professor mdschulz@vt.edu Schulz Research Group
Chemistry Diego Troya Associate Professor troya@vt.edu Troya Research Group
Chemistry Richard Turner Director Emeritus of MII, Research Professor srturner@vt.edu  
Geosciences Marc Michel Associate Professor mfrede2@vt.edu Environmental Nanoscience Group
Geosciences Madeline Schreiber Professor mschreib@vt.edu Hydrosciences Research Group
Physics Rana Ashkar Assistant Professor ashkar@vt.edu Ashkar Group
Physics Shengfeng Cheng Associate Professor chengsf@vt.edu Cheng Group
Physics Randy Heflin Professor rheflin@vt.edu  
Physics Vinh Nguyen Associate Professor vinh@vt.edu Vinh Nguyen Group
Physics Chenggang Tao Assistant Professor cgtao@vt.edu Tao Research Group
Department Name Rank Email Lab Website
Biomedical Science and Pathology Coy Allen Associate Professor icallen@vt.edu Allen Laboratory
Name Rank and Affiliation Email
Matthew Hull Program Manager, ICTAS mahull@vt.edu
Steve McKnight Vice President for National Capital Region, Affiliated Faculty of the Department of Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics shm@vt.edu

Research Areas

Name Department Rank Email Lab Website
Coy Allen Biomedical Science and Pathology Associate Professor icallen@vt.edu Allen Laboratory
Justin Barone Biological Systems Engineering Professor jbarone@vt.edu  
Bahareh Behkam Mechanical Engineering Associate Professor behkam@vt.edu MicroN BASE Laboratory
Raffaella De Vita Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics Professor devita@vt.edu STRETCH Lab
Alan Esker Chemistry Professor aesker@vt.edu  
Charles Frazier Sustainable Biomaterials Thomas M. Brooks Professor cfrazier@vt.edu Plant Polymers Research Group
Aaron Goldstein Chemical Engineering Associate Professor goldst@vt.edu Goldstein Group
Blake Johnson Industrial and Systems Engineering Assistant Professor bnj@vt.edu Advanced Biomanufacturing and Biosensing (AdBio) Lab
Amrinder Nain Mechanical Engineering Associate Professor nain@vt.edu STEP Lab
Padma Rajagopalan Chemical Engineering
Robert H. Hord Endowed Professor padmar@vt.edu Laboratory for Biomaterials and Tissue Engineering
Maren Roman Sustainable Biomaterials
Associate Professor maren.roman@vt.edu
 
Rong Tong Chemical Engineering
Assistant Professor rtong@vt.edu Tong Research Group
Scott Verbridge Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics Associate Professor sverb@vt.edu Laboratory of Integrative Tumor Ecology
Abby Whittington Chemical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering Associate Professor awmorgan@vt.edu  
Name Department Rank Email Lab Website
Rana Ashkar
Physics Assistant Professor ashkar@vt.edu Ashkar Group
Michael Bortner Chemical Engineering Assistant Professor mbortner@vt.edu Polymer Composite and Materials Laboratory
Scott Case Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics Reynolds Metals Professor scase@vt.edu
 
Jack Lesko Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics
Professor jlesko@vt.edu  
Steve McKnight Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics Vice President for National Capital Region, Affiliated Faculty shm@vt.edu  
Gary Seidel Aerospace and Ocean Engineering Associate Professor gary.seidel@vt.edu  
Maryam Shakiba Civil and Environmental Engineering Assistant Professor mshakiba@vt.edu Shakiba Group
Hang Yu Materials Science and Engineering Assistant Professor hangyu@vt.edu  
Name Department Rank Email Lab Website
Paul Deck Chemistry Associate Professor pdeck@vt.edu Deck Research Group
Guoliang (Greg) Liu Chemistry Associate Professor gliu1@vt.edu The Liu Group
Timothy Long Chemistry Professor telong@vt.edu Long Research Group
John Matson Chemistry Associate Professor jbmatson@vt.edu Matson Research Group
Robert Moore Chemistry Professor rbmoore3@vt.edu Moore Research Group
Michael Schulz Chemistry Assistant Professor mdschulz@vt.edu Schulz Research Group
Rong Tong Chemical Engineering Assistant Professor rtong@vt.edu Tong Research Group
Richard Turner Chemistry Director Emeritus of MII, Research Professor srturner@vt.edu  
Name Department Rank Email Lab Website
Rana Ashkar Physics Assistant Professor ashkar@vt.edu Ashkar Group
Kevin Edgar Sustainable Biomaterials Professor of Biomaterials and Bioprocessing kjedgar@vt.edu  
John Matson Chemistry Associate Professor jbmatson@vt.edu Matson Research Group
Michael Schulz Chemistry Assistant Professor mdschulz@vt.edu Schulz Research Group
Abby Whittington Chemical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering Associate Professor awmorgan@vt.edu  
Name Department Rank Email Lab Website
David Dillard Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics The Adhesives & Sealant Science Professor dillard@vt.edu
 
Michael Ellis Mechanical Engineering Associate Professor mwellis@vt.edu  
Randy Heflin Physics Professor rheflin@vt.edu  
Feng Lin Chemistry Assistant Professor fenglin@vt.edu Lin Lab
Louis Madsen Chemistry Professor lmadsen@vt.edu Madsen Research Group
Robert Moore Chemistry Professor rbmoore3@vt.edu Moore Research Group
Amanda Morris Chemistry Professor ajmorris@vt.edu Amanda Morris Group
Michael von Spakovsky Mechanical Engineering Professor vonspako@vt.edu  
Carolina Tallon Materials Science and Engineering Assistant Professor tallon@vt.edu Tallon Research Lab
Name Department Rank Email Lab Website
Richey Davis Chemical Engineering Professor of Chemical Engineering and Health Sciences rmdavis@vt.edu Davis Group
Louis Madsen Chemistry Professor lmadsen@vt.edu Madsen Research Group
Madeline Schreiber Geosciences Professor mschreib@vt.edu Hydrosciences Research Group
Joe Wheeler Architecture and Design Professor joewheel@vt.edu  
Name Department Rank Email Lab Website
Rana Ashkar Physics Assistant Professor ashkar@vt.edu Ashkar Group
Romesh Batra Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics Clifton C. Garvin Professor rbatra@vt.edu  
Scott Case Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics Reynolds Metals Professor scase@vt.edu
 
Shengfeng Cheng Physics Associate Professor chengsf@vt.edu Cheng Group
David Dillard Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics The Adhesives & Sealant Science Professor dillard@vt.edu  
Steve McKnight Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics Vice President for National Capital Region, Affiliated Faculty shm@vt.edu  
Rui Qiao Mechanical Engineering Professor ruiqiao@vt.edu Laboratory of Transport Phenomena for Advanced Technologies
Gary Seidel Aerospace and Ocean Engineering Associate Professor gary.seidel@vt.edu  
Maryam Shakiba Civil and Environmental Engineering Assistant Professor mshakiba@vt.edu Shakiba Group
Danesh Tafti Mechanical Engineering William S. Cross Professor dtafti@vt.edu  
Diego Troya Chemistry Associate Professor troya@vt.edu Troya Research Group
Robert West Mechanical Engineering Associate Professor westrl@vt.edu  
Name Department Rank Email Lab Website
Michael Bortner Chemical Engineering Assistant Professor mbortner@vt.edu Polymer Composite and Materials Laboratory
Alan Esker Chemistry Professor aesker@vt.edu  
Randy Heflin Physics Professor rheflin@vt.edu  
Matthew Hull ICTAS Program Manager mahull@vt.edu  
Feng Lin Chemistry Assistant Professor fenglin@vt.edu Lin Lab
Guoliang (Greg) Liu Chemistry Associate Professor gliu1@vt.edu The Liu Group
Marc Michel Geosciences Associate Professor mfrede2@vt.edu Environmental Nanoscience Group
Vinh Nguyen Physics Associate Professor vinh@vt.edu Vinh Nguyen Group
Maren Roman Sustainable Biomaterials Associate Professor maren.roman@vt.edu
 
Gary Seidel Aerospace and Ocean Engineering Associate Professor gary.seidel@vt.edu  
Name Department Rank Email Lab Website
Susan Duncan Food Science and Technology Professor duncans@vt.edu  
Cristina Fernández Fraguas Food Science and Technology
Assistant Professor
cfraguas@vt.edu  
Young-Teck Kim Sustainable Biomaterials Associate Professor ytkim@vt.edu  
Timothy Long Chemistry Professor telong@vt.edu Long Research Group
Joseph Marcy Food Science and Technology
Professor jmarcy@vt.edu  
Robert Moore Chemistry Professor rbmoore3@vt.edu Moore Research Group
Joe Wheeler Architecture and Design Professor joewheel@vt.edu  
Christopher Williams Mechanical Engineering L.S. Randolph Professor cbwill@vt.edu DREAMS Lab
Name Department Rank Email Lab Website
Rana Ashkar Physics Assistant Professor ashkar@vt.edu Ashkar Group
Donald Baird Chemical Engineering Alexander F. Giacco Professor dbaird@vt.edu Polymer Processing Group
Michael Bortner Chemical Engineering Assistant Professor mbortner@vt.edu Polymer Composite and Materials Laboratory
Scott Case Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics Reynolds Metals Professor scase@vt.edu  
Richey Davis Chemical Engineering Professor of Chemical Engineering and Health Sciences rmdavis@vt.edu Davis Group
David Dillard Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics The Adhesives & Sealant Science Professor dillard@vt.edu
 
Alan Esker Chemistry Professor aesker@vt.edu  
Young-Teck Kim Sustainable Biomaterials Associate Professor ytkim@vt.edu  
Erdogan Kiran Chemical Engineering Professor ekiran@vt.edu Kiran Research Page
Timothy Long Chemistry Professor telong@vt.edu Long Research Group
Louis Madsen Chemistry Professor lmadsen@vt.edu Madsen Research Group
Stephen Martin Chemical Engineering Associate Professor martinsm@vt.edu Membranes@VT
Robert Moore Chemistry Professor rbmoore3@vt.edu Moore Research Group
Vinh Nguyen Physics Associate Professor vinh@vt.edu Vinh Nguyen Group
Maryam Shakiba Civil and Environmental Engineering Assistant Professor mshakiba@vt.edu Shakiba Group
Chenggang Tao Physics Assistant Professor cgtao@vt.edu Tao Research Group
Name Department Rank Email Lab Website
Donald Baird Chemical Engineering Alexander F. Giacco Professor dbaird@vt.edu Polymer Processing Group
Michael Bortner Chemical Engineering Assistant Professor mbortner@vt.edu Polymer Composite and Materials Laboratory
Sanket Deshmukh Chemical Engineering Assistant Professor sanketad@vt.edu Deshmukh Group
Blake Johnson Industrial and Systems Engineering Assistant Professor bnj@vt.edu Advanced Biomanufacturing and Biosensing (AdBio) Lab
Erdogan Kiran Chemical Engineering Professor ekiran@vt.edu Kiran Research Page
Rui Qiao Mechanical Engineering Professor ruiqiao@vt.edu Laboratory of Transport Phenomena for Advanced Technologies
Christopher Williams Mechanical Engineering L.S. Randolph Professor cbwill@vt.edu DREAMS Lab
Name Department Rank Email Lab Website
Rana Ashkar
Physics Assistant Professor ashkar@vt.edu Ashkar Group
Timothy Long Chemistry Professor telong@vt.edu Long Research Group
Michael Schulz Chemistry Assistant Professor mdschulz@vt.edu Schulz Research Group
Gary Seidel Aerospace and Ocean Engineering Associate Professor gary.seidel@vt.edu  
Name Department Rank Email Lab Website
Jonathan Boreyko Mechanical Engineering Associate Professor boreyko@vt.edu Nature-Inspired Fluids & Interfaces Lab
David Dillard Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics The Adhesives & Sealant Science Professor dillard@vt.edu  
Charles Frazier Sustainable Biomaterials Thomas M. Brooks Professor cfrazier@vt.edu Plant Polymers Research Group