Virginia Tech®home

List of Current Faculty

Search MII Faculty by

Colleges

  • Bio Item
    Dr. Joseph E. Marcy
    Joseph Marcy , bio

    Professor: Food Processing and Packaging, Food Chemistry, Modified Atmosphere Packaging, Aseptic Packaging

Department Name Rank Email
Architecture and Design
Joe Wheeler Professor joewheel@vt.edu
  • Bio Item
    Dr. Gary D. Seidel
    Gary D. Seidel , bio

    Assistant Department Head for Academic Affairs, (540) 231-9897, gdseidel@vt.edu

  • Bio Item
    Professor Michael Philen
    Michael Philen , bio

    Assistant Department Head for Laboratory Facilities, (540) 231-2548, mphilen@vt.edu

Department Name Rank Email Lab Website
Computer Science Layne Watson Professor ltw@vt.edu Laboratory for Advanced Scientific Computing and Applications
Name Rank and Affiliation Email
Matthew Hull Program Manager, ICTAS mahull@vt.edu
Steve McKnight Vice President for National Capital Region, Affiliated Faculty of the Department of Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics shm@vt.edu

Research Areas

Name Department Rank Email Lab Website  
Coy Allen Biomedical Science and Pathology Associate Professor icallen@vt.edu Allen Laboratory  
Justin Barone Biological Systems Engineering Professor jbarone@vt.edu    
Bahareh Behkam Mechanical Engineering Associate Professor behkam@vt.edu MicroN BASE Laboratory  
Raffaella De Vita Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics Professor devita@vt.edu STRETCH Lab  
Patricia Dove Geosciences University Distinguished Professor dove@vt.edu Biogeochemistry of Earth Materials  
Sanket Deshmukh Chemical Engineering Associate Professor sanketad@vt.edu Deshmukh Group  
William Ducker Chemical Engineering Professor wducker@vt.edu Ducker Research Group  
Alan Esker Chemistry Professor aesker@vt.edu    
Adrian Figg Chemistry Assistant Professor figg@vt.edu Figg Research Group  
Valerie Welborn Chemistry Assistant Professor vwelborn@vt.edu Welborn Group  
Josh Worch Chemistry Assistant Professor jworch@vt.edu    
Rebecca Cockrum Dairy Science
Assistant Professor
rcockrum@vt.edu    
Charles Frazier Sustainable Biomaterials Thomas M. Brooks Professor cfrazier@vt.edu Plant Polymers Research Group  
Aaron Goldstein Chemical Engineering Associate Professor goldst@vt.edu Goldstein Group  
Blake Johnson Industrial and Systems Engineering Assistant Professor bnj@vt.edu Advanced Biomanufacturing and Biosensing (AdBio) Lab  
Amrinder Nain Mechanical Engineering Associate Professor nain@vt.edu STEP Lab  
Michael Philen Aerospace and Ocean Engineering Associate Professor mphilen@vt.edu Aerospace structures and materials laboratory (ASML)  
Padma Rajagopalan Chemical Engineering
Robert H. Hord Endowed Professor padmar@vt.edu Laboratory for Biomaterials and Tissue Engineering  
Maren Roman Sustainable Biomaterials
Associate Professor maren.roman@vt.edu
   
Jennifer Russel Sustainable Biomaterials Assistant Professor jdrussell@vt.edu    
Zhenhua Tian Mechanical Engineering Assistant Professor tianz@vt.edu    
Rong Tong Chemical Engineering
Assistant Professor rtong@vt.edu Tong Research Group  
Scott Verbridge Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics Associate Professor sverb@vt.edu Laboratory of Integrative Tumor Ecology  
Abby Whittington Chemical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering Associate Professor awmorgan@vt.edu    
Name Department Rank Email Lab Website
Rana Ashkar
Physics Assistant Professor ashkar@vt.edu Ashkar Group
Michael Bartlett Mechanical Engineering Assistant Professor mbartlett@vt.edu  
Michael Bortner Chemical Engineering Associate Professor mbortner@vt.edu Polymer Composite and Materials Laboratory
Sanket Deshmukh Chemical Engineering Associate Professor sanketad@vt.edu Deshmukh Group
Scott Case Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics Reynolds Metals Professor scase@vt.edu
 
Jiangtao Cheng Mechanical Engineering Associate Professor chengjt@vt.edu Fluid Physics Lab
Patricia Dove Geosciences University Distinguished Professor dove@vt.edu Biogeochemistry of Earth Materials
Guoliang (Greg) Liu Chemistry Associate Professor gliu1@vt.edu The Liu Group
Kathy Lu Materials Science and Engineering Professor klu@vt.edu  
Steve McKnight Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics Vice President for National Capital Region, Affiliated Faculty shm@vt.edu  
Michael Philen Aerospace and Ocean Engineering Associate Professor mphilen@vt.edu Aerospace structures and materials laboratory (ASML)
Gary Seidel Aerospace and Ocean Engineering Associate Professor gary.seidel@vt.edu  
Maryam Shakiba Civil and Environmental Engineering Assistant Professor mshakiba@vt.edu Shakiba Group
Zhenhua Tian Mechanical Engineering Assistant Professor tianz@vt.edu  
Hang Yu Materials Science and Engineering Assistant Professor hangyu@vt.edu  
Name Department Rank Email Lab Website
Paul Deck Chemistry Associate Professor pdeck@vt.edu Deck Research Group
Adrian Figg Chemistry Assistant Professor figg@vt.edu Figg Research Group
Guoliang (Greg) Liu Chemistry Associate Professor gliu1@vt.edu The Liu Group
John Matson Chemistry Associate Professor jbmatson@vt.edu Matson Research Group
Robert Moore Chemistry Professor rbmoore3@vt.edu Moore Research Group
Michael Schulz Chemistry Assistant Professor mdschulz@vt.edu Schulz Research Group
Josh Worch Chemistry Assistant Professor jworch@vt.edu  
Rong Tong Chemical Engineering Assistant Professor rtong@vt.edu Tong Research Group
Richard Turner Chemistry Director Emeritus of MII, Research Professor srturner@vt.edu  
Rebecca Cockrum Dairy Science Assistant Professor rcockrum@vt.edu  
Name Department Rank Email Lab Website
Rana Ashkar Physics Assistant Professor ashkar@vt.edu Ashkar Group
Kevin Edgar Sustainable Biomaterials Professor of Biomaterials and Bioprocessing kjedgar@vt.edu  
John Matson Chemistry Associate Professor jbmatson@vt.edu Matson Research Group
Michael Schulz Chemistry Assistant Professor mdschulz@vt.edu Schulz Research Group
Zhenhua Tian Mechanical Engineering Assistant Professor tianz@vt.edu  
Abby Whittington Chemical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering Associate Professor awmorgan@vt.edu  
Name Department Rank Email Lab Website
Michael Bartlett Mechanical Engineering Assistant Professor mbartlett@vt.edu  
Jiangtao Cheng Mechanical Engineering Associate Professor chengjt@vt.edu Fluid Physics Lab
David Dillard Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics The Adhesives & Sealant Science Professor dillard@vt.edu
 
Michael Ellis Mechanical Engineering Associate Professor mwellis@vt.edu  
Randy Heflin Physics Professor rheflin@vt.edu  
Scott Huxtable Mechanical Engineering Associate Professor huxtable@vt.edu  
Feng Lin Chemistry Assistant Professor fenglin@vt.edu Lin Lab
Guoliang (Greg) Liu Chemistry Associate Professor gliu1@vt.edu The Liu Group
Kathy Lu Materials Science and Engineering Professor klu@vt.edu  
Louis Madsen Chemistry Professor lmadsen@vt.edu Madsen Research Group
Robert Moore Chemistry Professor rbmoore3@vt.edu Moore Research Group
Amanda Morris Chemistry Professor ajmorris@vt.edu Amanda Morris Group
Michael von Spakovsky Mechanical Engineering Professor vonspako@vt.edu  
Carolina Tallon Materials Science and Engineering Assistant Professor tallon@vt.edu Tallon Research Lab
Name Department Rank Email Lab Website
Richey Davis Chemical Engineering Professor of Chemical Engineering and Health Sciences rmdavis@vt.edu Davis Group
Guoliang (Greg) Liu Chemistry Associate Professor gliu1@vt.edu The Liu Group
Louis Madsen Chemistry Professor lmadsen@vt.edu Madsen Research Group
Joe Wheeler Architecture and Design Professor joewheel@vt.edu  
Name Department Rank Email Lab Website
Rana Ashkar Physics Assistant Professor ashkar@vt.edu Ashkar Group
Romesh Batra Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics Clifton C. Garvin Professor rbatra@vt.edu  
Scott Case Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics Reynolds Metals Professor scase@vt.edu
 
Jiangtao Cheng Mechanical Engineering Associate Professor chengjt@vt.edu Fluid Physics Lab
Shengfeng Cheng Physics Associate Professor chengsf@vt.edu Cheng Group
Sanket Deshmukh Chemical Engineering Associate Professor sanketad@vt.edu Deshmukh Group
David Dillard Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics The Adhesives & Sealant Science Professor dillard@vt.edu  
Steve McKnight Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics Vice President for National Capital Region, Affiliated Faculty shm@vt.edu  
Rui Qiao Mechanical Engineering Professor ruiqiao@vt.edu Laboratory of Transport Phenomena for Advanced Technologies
Gary Seidel Aerospace and Ocean Engineering Associate Professor gary.seidel@vt.edu  
Maryam Shakiba Civil and Environmental Engineering Assistant Professor mshakiba@vt.edu Shakiba Group
Danesh Tafti Mechanical Engineering William S. Cross Professor dtafti@vt.edu  
Diego Troya Chemistry Associate Professor troya@vt.edu Troya Research Group
Valerie Welborn Chemistry Assistant Professor vwelborn@vt.edu Welborn Group
Layne Watson Computer Science Professor ltw@vt.edu Laboratory for Advanced Scientific Computing and Applications
Rebecca Cockrum Dairy Science
Assistant Professor
rcockrum@vt.edu
 
Name Department Rank Email Lab Website
Michael Bartlett Mechanical Engineering Assistant Professor mbartlett@vt.edu  
Michael Bortner Chemical Engineering Associate Professor mbortner@vt.edu Polymer Composite and Materials Laboratory
Jiangtao Cheng Mechanical Engineering Associate Professor chengjt@vt.edu Fluid Physics Lab
Sanket Deshmukh Chemical Engineering Associate Professor sanketad@vt.edu Deshmukh Group
Patricia Dove Geosciences University Distinguished Professor dove@vt.edu Biogeochemistry of Earth Materials
Alan Esker Chemistry Professor aesker@vt.edu  
Adrian Figg Chemistry Assistant Professor figg@vt.edu Figg Research Group
Randy Heflin Physics Professor rheflin@vt.edu  
Matthew Hull ICTAS Program Manager mahull@vt.edu  
Scott Huxtable Mechanical Engineering Associate Professor huxtable@vt.edu  
Feng Lin Chemistry Assistant Professor fenglin@vt.edu Lin Lab
Guoliang (Greg) Liu Chemistry Associate Professor gliu1@vt.edu The Liu Group
Kathy Lu Materials Science and Engineering Professor klu@vt.edu  
Marc Michel Geosciences Associate Professor mfrede2@vt.edu Environmental Nanoscience Group
Vinh Nguyen Physics Associate Professor vinh@vt.edu Vinh Nguyen Group
Maren Roman Sustainable Biomaterials Associate Professor maren.roman@vt.edu
 
Gary Seidel Aerospace and Ocean Engineering Associate Professor gary.seidel@vt.edu  
Zhenhua Tian Mechanical Engineering Assistant Professor tianz@vt.edu  
Name Department Rank Email Lab Website
Rebecca Cockrum Dairy Science
Assistant Professor
rcockrum@vt.edu
 
Young-Teck Kim Sustainable Biomaterials Associate Professor ytkim@vt.edu  
Guoliang (Greg) Liu Chemistry Associate Professor gliu1@vt.edu The Liu Group
Joseph Marcy Food Science and Technology
Professor jmarcy@vt.edu  
Robert Moore Chemistry Professor rbmoore3@vt.edu Moore Research Group
Josh Worch Chemistry Assistant Professor jworch@vt.edu  
Jennifer Russel Sustainable Biomaterials Assistant Professor jdrussell@vt.edu  
Joe Wheeler Architecture and Design Professor joewheel@vt.edu  
Christopher Williams Mechanical Engineering L.S. Randolph Professor cbwill@vt.edu DREAMS Lab
Name Department Rank Email Lab Website
Rana Ashkar Physics Assistant Professor ashkar@vt.edu Ashkar Group
Michael Bortner Chemical Engineering Associate Professor mbortner@vt.edu Polymer Composite and Materials Laboratory
Scott Case Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics Reynolds Metals Professor scase@vt.edu  
Richey Davis Chemical Engineering Professor of Chemical Engineering and Health Sciences rmdavis@vt.edu Davis Group
David Dillard Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics The Adhesives & Sealant Science Professor dillard@vt.edu
 
Alan Esker Chemistry Professor aesker@vt.edu  
Young-Teck Kim Sustainable Biomaterials Associate Professor ytkim@vt.edu  
Rebecca Cockrum Dairy Science
Assistant Professor
rcockrum@vt.edu
 
Erdogan Kiran Chemical Engineering Professor ekiran@vt.edu Kiran Research Page
Guoliang (Greg) Liu Chemistry Associate Professor gliu1@vt.edu The Liu Group
Louis Madsen Chemistry Professor lmadsen@vt.edu Madsen Research Group
Stephen Martin Chemical Engineering Associate Professor martinsm@vt.edu Membranes@VT
Robert Moore Chemistry Professor rbmoore3@vt.edu Moore Research Group
Vinh Nguyen Physics Associate Professor vinh@vt.edu Vinh Nguyen Group
Maryam Shakiba Civil and Environmental Engineering Assistant Professor mshakiba@vt.edu Shakiba Group
Name Department Rank Email Lab Website
Michael Bartlett Mechanical Engineering Assistant Professor mbartlett@vt.edu  
Michael Bortner Chemical Engineering Associate Professor mbortner@vt.edu Polymer Composite and Materials Laboratory
Sanket Deshmukh Chemical Engineering Associate Professor sanketad@vt.edu Deshmukh Group
Blake Johnson Industrial and Systems Engineering Assistant Professor bnj@vt.edu Advanced Biomanufacturing and Biosensing (AdBio) Lab
Erdogan Kiran Chemical Engineering Professor ekiran@vt.edu Kiran Research Page
Guoliang (Greg) Liu Chemistry Associate Professor gliu1@vt.edu The Liu Group
Josh Worch Chemistry Assistant Professor jworch@vt.edu  
Rui Qiao Mechanical Engineering Professor ruiqiao@vt.edu Laboratory of Transport Phenomena for Advanced Technologies
Jennifer Russel Sustainable Biomaterials Assistant Professor jdrussell@vt.edu  
Zhenhua Tian Mechanical Engineering Assistant Professor tianz@vt.edu  
Christopher Williams Mechanical Engineering L.S. Randolph Professor cbwill@vt.edu DREAMS Lab
Name Department Rank Email Lab Website
Rana Ashkar
Physics Assistant Professor ashkar@vt.edu Ashkar Group
Michael Bartlett Mechanical Engineering Assistant Professor mbartlett@vt.edu  
Michael Bortner Chemical Engineering Associate Professor mbortner@vt.edu Polymer Composite and Materials Laboratory
William Ducker Chemical Engineering Professor wducker@vt.edu Ducker Research Group
Scott Huxtable Mechanical Engineering Associate Professor huxtable@vt.edu  
Guoliang (Greg) Liu Chemistry Associate Professor gliu1@vt.edu The Liu Group
Michael Philen Aerospace and Ocean Engineering Associate Professor mphilen@vt.edu Aerospace structures and materials laboratory (ASML)
Adrian Figg Chemistry Assistant Professor figg@vt.edu Figg Research Group
Michael Schulz Chemistry Assistant Professor mdschulz@vt.edu Schulz Research Group
Josh Worch Chemistry Assistant Professor jworch@vt.edu  
Gary Seidel Aerospace and Ocean Engineering Associate Professor gary.seidel@vt.edu  
Zhenhua Tian Mechanical Engineering Assistant Professor tianz@vt.edu  
Name Department Rank Email Lab Website
Jonathan Boreyko Mechanical Engineering Associate Professor boreyko@vt.edu Nature-Inspired Fluids & Interfaces Lab
Michael Bortner Chemical Engineering Associate Professor mbortner@vt.edu Polymer Composite and Materials Laboratory
Sanket Deshmukh Chemical Engineering Associate Professor sanketad@vt.edu Deshmukh Group
David Dillard Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics The Adhesives & Sealant Science Professor dillard@vt.edu  
William Ducker Chemical Engineering Professor wducker@vt.edu Ducker Research Group
Patricia Dove Geosciences University Distinguished Professor dove@vt.edu Biogeochemistry of Earth Materials
Jiangtao Cheng Mechanical Engineering Associate Professor chengjt@vt.edu Fluid Physics Lab
Charles Frazier Sustainable Biomaterials Thomas M. Brooks Professor cfrazier@vt.edu Plant Polymers Research Group
Guoliang (Greg) Liu Chemistry Associate Professor gliu1@vt.edu The Liu Group
Layne Watson Computer Science Professor ltw@vt.edu Laboratory for Advanced Scientific Computing and Applications

Want to learn more?

Search for a specific faculty member below to see VT News results and more! If search results do not appear immediately after clicking "submit," try scrolling down.