MII Special Seminars

Speaker, Institution

Seminar Title

Date

Dr. Elaine Yorkgitis
3M Automotive Aftermarket Division Laboratory
emyorkgitis@mmm.com

"Technical Fables: Stories of Materials R&D at 3M" (abstract)

September 10, 2018
10:00 AM – 11:00 AM
Fralin Auditorium

 

Prof. Ronit Bitton
Ben Gurion University
rbitton@bgu.ac.il
"Structure-Property Relationships in Multicomponent Polysaccharide-Peptide Hydrogels" (abstract) September 12, 2018
11:15 AM – 12:15 PM
Robeson 112
Prof. Feihe Huang
Zhejiang University
fhuang@zju.edu.cn
"Nonporous Adaptive Crystals (NACs) for Separation and Adsorption" (abstract) October 19, 2018
2:30 PM – 3:30 PM
Hahn Hall North 140

Fall 2018 Solvay Seminar Series

Speaker, Institution

Seminar Title

Date

Prof. Julie Kornfield
California Institute of Technology
jak@cheme.caltech.edu

"Multiplicity of Morphologies" (abstract)

August 29, 2018
11:15 AM – 12:15 PM
Kelly Hall 310

Prof. Sanat Kumar
Columbia University
sk2794@columbia.edu

"Polymer-Grafted Nanoparticle Membranes with Controllable Free-Volume" (abstract)

September 5, 2018
11:15 AM – 12:15 PM
Kelly Hall 310

Prof. Jaime Grunlan
Texas A&M University
jgrunlan@tamu.edu

"Polymer-Based Nanocoatings for Flame Retardancy, Gas Barrier and Thermoelectric Energy Generation" (abstract)

September 26, 2018
11:15 AM – 12:15 PM
Kelly Hall 310

Prof. Yan Xia
Stanford University
yanx@stanford.edu

"Building and Breaking Macromolecular Ladders to Develop Microporous Membranes and Mechanically Responsive Polymers" (abstract)

October 3, 2018
11:15 AM – 12:15 PM
Kelly Hall 310

Prof. Jeff Youngblood
Purdue University
jpyoungb@purdue.edu
"Nano-/Bio- Is Not an Either/Or Choice for Composites" (abstract)
October 10, 2018
11:15 AM – 12:15 PM
Kelly Hall 310
Dr. Ahmet Kusoglu
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
akusoglu@lbl.gov

"Chemical-Mechanical Interactions in Ion-Conductive Polymers" (abstract)

October 24, 2018
11:15 AM – 12:15 PM
Kelly Hall 310

Dr. Erik Hagberg
Archer Daniels Midland
erik.hagberg@adm.com

TBD November 7, 2018
11:15 AM – 12:15 PM
Kelly Hall 310

POSTPONED TO SPRING 2019 - Prof. Athanassios Z. Panagiotopoulos
Princeton University
azp@princeton.edu

POSTPONED TO SPRING 2019 - "Stratification dynamics and crystallization in drying colloidal suspensions"

November 14, 2018
11:15 AM – 12:15 PM
Kelly Hall 310

POSTPONED to SPRING 2019