Spring 2019 Solvay Seminar Series

Speaker, Institution

Seminar Title

Date

Prof. Rana Ashkar
Virginia Tech
ashkar@vt.edu

"It's all about the Interface: Neutron Scattering Insights into Polymer Nanocomposites"

January 30, 2019
11:15 AM – 12:15 PM
Kelly Hall 310

Prof. Athanassios Z. Panagiotopoulos
Princeton University
azp@princeton.edu

"Stratification and Crystallization in Drying Colloidal Suspensions"

February 27, 2019
11:15 AM – 12:15 PM
Kelly Hall 310

Prof. Gareth McKinley
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
gareth@mit.edu

"Fog, Feathers and Fluid Friction Reduction using Omniphobic Surfaces: Biomimetic Inspiration and Engineering Realization"

March 20, 2019
11:15 AM – 12:15 PM
Kelly Hall 310

Prof. Justin Kennemur
Florida State University
kennemur@chem.fsu.edu

Leveraging Equilibrium Polymerization Thermodynamics to Produce New Materials from Stubborn Monomers” 

March 27, 2019
11:15 AM – 12:15 PM
Kelly Hall 310

Prof. Gary Hamed
University of Akron
hamed@uakron.edu

The Discovery of Carbon Black / Natural Rubber Vulcanizates for Automobile and Truck Tires and the Mechanism for the Exceptionally High Tear Strength of these Nanocomposites” 

April 3, 2019
11:15 AM – 12:15 PM
Fralin Auditorium

Prof. Nenad Miljkovic
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
nmiljkov@illinois.edu
"Experimental Insights into the Fundamental Mechanisms and Limits of Dropwise Condensation"
April 17, 2019
11:15 AM – 12:15 PM
Kelly Hall 310
Dr. Todd Alam
Sandia National Laboratories
tmalam@sandia.gov

 

"Molecular Level Details of Dynamics, Domain Structure and Transport in Polymers Using NMR Spectroscopy"

April 24, 2019
11:15 AM – 12:15 PM
Kelly Hall 310

Prof. Rebekka Klausen
Johns Hopkins University
klausen@jhu.edu

Talk postponed until September 25, 2019

Postponed until September 25, 2019

Previously scheduled for May 1, 2019