Each year research scholarships/fellowships are offered to graduate students enrolled at Virginia Tech. These awards are made possible by participants in MII’s Industrial Partners Program, faculty advisor funding, and Virginia Tech.

2017 Winner
Ryan Mondschein (Chemistry)

This award is given once every 18 months to an MII affiliated faculty member and graduate student.

2018 Winners
Interdisciplinary Student Award Winner: Jake Fallon (advisor: Mike Bortner)
Interdisciplinary Faculty Award Winner: Robert Moore

Award: The Garth L. Wilkes Interdisciplinary Scholar Awards are named in honor of Professor Garth L. Wilkes, who was an internationally-recognized interdisciplinary scholar, faculty colleague, and personal friend to many people around the world. Dr. Wilkes played a leadership role in the formation of the Polymeric Materials and Interfaces Laboratory (PMIL) at Virginia Tech, which was a predecessor to the current institute. He also was instrumental in the construction of the Macromolecular Science and Engineering (MACR) degree, which serves as a university model for interdisciplinary graduate education.

Criteria: The MII Leadership will select a faculty member and graduate student who represent interdisciplinary excellence in research, teaching, and engagement. 

Adhesion Society Travel Award (2018)

Yuqin Li (Biomedical Engineering & Mechanics)
Jeffrey McGuire (Biomedical Engineering & Mechanics)

Mohammad Tasooji, Ph.D. Candidate in MACR
Advisor: C. Frazier (Sustainable Biomaterials)

Matt Joseph, Ph.D. Candidate in MACR
Advisor: J.S. Riffle (Chemistry)

Ji Wang, Ph.D. Candidate in MACR
Advisor: A. Nain

2018 Winners
Xi Chen (Chemistry)
Emily Wilts (Chemistry)