Virginia Tech® home

Graduate Fellowships and Awards

Each year research scholarships/fellowships are offered to graduate students enrolled at Virginia Tech. These awards are made possible by participants in MII’s Industrial Partners Program, faculty advisor funding, and Virginia Tech.

This award is given once every 18 months to an MII affiliated faculty member and graduate student.

2022 Winners

Interdisciplinary Student Award Winner: Arit Das (advisor: Michael Bortner)
Interdisciplinary Faculty Award Winner: Christopher Williams

2019 Winners
Interdisciplinary Student Award Winner: Camden Chatham (advisor: Christopher Williams)
Interdisciplinary Faculty Award Winner: David Dillard

Award: The Garth L. Wilkes Interdisciplinary Scholar Awards are named in honor of Professor Garth L. Wilkes, who was an internationally-recognized interdisciplinary scholar, faculty colleague, and personal friend to many people around the world. Dr. Wilkes played a leadership role in the formation of the Polymeric Materials and Interfaces Laboratory (PMIL) at Virginia Tech, which was a predecessor to the current institute. He also was instrumental in the construction of the Macromolecular Science and Engineering (MACR) degree, which serves as a university model for interdisciplinary graduate education.

Criteria: The MII Leadership will select a faculty member and graduate student who represent interdisciplinary excellence in research, teaching, and engagement. 

Adhesive Manufacturers Scholarship (2020)

Kaavya Nimmakayala (Biomedical Engineering & Mechanics)

2020 Winners
Sarah Blosch (Chemistry)
Weiwei Shi (Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics)

2021 Winners
Cassell McMillian (Sustainable Biomaterials)
Ethan Fink (Chemistry)
Alex Coley (Chemistry)

2020 Winners
Madison Bardot (Chemistry)